13 middle school students named SC Junior Scholars

WEST COLUMBIA, SC -- Thirteen Lexington Two middle school students have been named South Carolina Junior Scholars.


The program, developed by the SC Department of Education, identifies eighth-graders with exceptional academic talent.  This program reflects the growing statewide effort to improve education in South Carolina and responds to the needs of students possessing unique abilities.  The purpose of the program is to identify students and provide opportunities that will facilitate their intellectual growth, broaden their individual interests, and promote their scholastic achievement.  A student can become eligible for the Junior Scholar Program by either scoring 550 or higher on the Evidence Based Reading and Writing Section or a 530 or higher score on the Math section of the PSAT/NMSQT.

Lexington Two’s Junior Scholars include:

Busbee Creative Arts Academy: Nathan Boulet, Patrick Lovett, Mackenna Maddox

Fulmer Middle School: Colton Jennings, Christopher Scott, Lore Stabler, Isabella Szczechowski

Northside Middle School: Brennan Gocke-Anderson, Bentley Tiedman

Pine Ridge Middle School: Ayden Diaz, Mariana Hernandez-Villegas, Raymond Russell, Jaiden Sherman

The students will be recognized at a reception this spring.