25 middle schoolers named SC Junior Scholars

WEST COLUMBIA, SC -- Twenty-five Lexington Two middle school students have been named South Carolina Junior Scholars.


The program, developed by the SC Department of Education, identifies eighth-graders 

with exceptional academic talent.  This program reflects the growing statewide effort to improve education in South Carolina and responds to the needs of students possessing unique abilities.  The purpose of the program is to identify students and provide opportunities that will facilitate their intellectual growth, broaden their individual interests, and promote their scholastic achievement.  A student can become eligible for the Junior Scholar Program by either scoring 550 or higher on the Evidence Based Reading and Writing Section or a 530 or higher score on the Math section of the PSAT/NMSQT.


Lexington Two’s Junior Scholars include:

Busbee Creative Arts Academy: Lillian Adkins, Preston Hamlet, Micah Simmons,  Delaney Williams

Fulmer Middle School: Zoe Carter, Robert Chavis, Caleb Clayton, Jay Dufries, Addison Herron, Robert Hess, Vincent Mills, Elena Nguyen, Jayden Osborne, Giada Smith, Keileigh Zeien

Northside Middle School: Jack Fisher, Ashilee Harrison, Campbell Parsons, Graham Parsons, Emma Summers, Caleah Tucker

Pine Ridge Middle School: ​​Gavin Russell, Sofia Gonzalez Hernandez, Austin Thompson,  Victor Goncalves

The students will be recognized at a reception before the April 18 board meeting.